top of page

Alpha  Kappa  Alpha  Sorority,  Incorporated®


Alpha Kappa Alpha Sorority, Incorporated had its humble beginnings as the vision of nine college students on the campus of Howard University in 1908. Since then, the sorority has flourished into a globally-impactful organization of over 283,000 college-trained members, bound by the bonds of sisterhood and empowered by a commitment to servant-leadership that is both domestic and international in its scope. 


As Alpha Kappa Alpha has grown, it has maintained its focus in two key arenas: the lifelong personal and professional development of each of its members; and galvanizing its membership into an organization of respected power and influence, consistently at the forefront of effective advocacy and social change that results in equality and equity for all citizens of the world. 

Learn more by visiting 



Rho Omicron Omega Chapter 


In 1987, five women of Baytown, Texas under the inspiration of the Founders of Alpha Kappa Alpha Sorority, Incorporated joined together to form the Bay Area Interest Group.  These five women were:


Geraldine Brown, *Linda Felder, Rose Haywood, Yolanda Smith,  *Stephanie T. Johnson


One year later, on December 10, 1988 at Goose Creek Country Club in Baytown, Texas 14 members chartered Rho Omicron Omega Chapter.  The charter members of Rho Omicron Omega Chapter were:


Karen Allen, Irma Bonham, Irma Bundage, Sheryl Carlton, Helen Chenier, Sandra Clay, Delisa Collins, Marlowe Hall, Pamela Holmes, Olevia Johnson, Carolyn Kelley, Dr. Nell Pringle, Sandra Richmond, Lola Robinson


The members of Rho Omicron Omega are dedicated to serving the Baytown community!



Rho Omicron Omega is a member of the

Sensational South Central Region

bottom of page